Close Menu
Florida Boat Accident Lawyer / Blog / Boat Crash / When Must You Submit a Written Report After a Boating Accident?

When Must You Submit a Written Report After a Boating Accident?


Under Florida law, you must file a written boating accident report in certain situations. These include when a crash involved bodily injury, death, the disappearance of any person, or at least $2,000 in property damage. Filing a report is not always straightforward, though, particularly when you are trying to recover from severe injuries and the shock of a serious crash. Below, our Florida boat crash lawyer explains more about filing a report after a crash.

How to File a Boating Accident Report 

Generally speaking, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) handles reports after a boat crash. The FWC Division of Law Enforcement can file a report for you. The Division can also explain whether a report is necessary after your crash, how to access your reporting documents, where to file the document, and the steps you should take after reporting the crash.

It may also be a good idea to report a boat crash with other law enforcement agencies, as well. Again, it is not always easy to determine this after an accident. An attorney can advise on your case, help you file a report with the FWC, and determine whether you should report to any other agencies.

Types of Boat Accidents You Should Report 

Again, there are certain instances in which you must report a boating accident, such as when a crash caused injury, death, or property damage. These are most likely to result in the following types of crashes:

  • Multi-boat accidents
  • Capsized boats
  • A boat that has run aground
  • Sinking boats
  • Accidents caused by rough water
  • Crashes caused by reckless boat operators
  • A boat striking a fixed object, such as markers in the water

After seeking medical treatment, the first thing to do after a boat crash is to speak to an attorney. A lawyer can determine whether you need to report the accident and will advise on the next steps to take.

Time Limit to File a Boating Accident Report 

After any boating accident, you should report the boating accident within 48 hours. You must report the crash to the FWC, the sheriff of the county where the crash occurred, or the police department of the municipality where the accident happened. If you fail to report a boating accident, there are serious consequences. You will be subject to penalties such as high fines and even jail time.

Our Boat Crash Lawyer in Florida Can Help with Your Report 

After any boating accident, there are many important steps you should take. Unfortunately, they are not always clear or easy to do on your own while you are trying to tend to your injuries. At 888-BOAT-LAW (The Law Offices of Frank D. Butler), our Florida boat crash lawyer can guide you through the steps and provide sound legal advice so you obtain the full and fair compensation you need while avoiding harsh penalties. Call us now or chat with us online to schedule a consultation and to obtain the legal help you need.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn